A few of my favorite things…Julia Child edition

1 Mar

If you live anywhere other than South Florida, I’m sure we are thinking the same thing, “Is this winter ever going to end?!”. Rather than joining the rest of the country in complaining about it (which I’ve been guilty of for the past few weeks), I’ve decided to face it head on and say, “bring it on!”.

Instead of focusing on the dreary cold weather outside, I have decided to focus on my favorite things. For the next two weeks, you will hear no complaining here, just posts and recipes of my favorite things. Make sure to like me on Facebook and follow my blog so you don’t miss out on any.

I will start with one of my obvious favorite things…Julia Child!

You can often find me before dinner most nights saying, “Bon Appetit” in an high pitched creaky voice trying to mimic one of my favorite people. It usually makes my husband and family cringe a bit but it makes me smile and laugh and enjoy my meal that much more.

I may have spent close to 3 hours in the Julia Child’s kitchen when it was at the National History Museum in Washington D.C.

My parents happened to find the perfect birthday card for me this year:

IMG_0459

Here are reasons I love Julia (or “Jules” as I imagine she would want me to call her because we would totally be besties if she was still alive):

– She embraced life regardless of the situation she was given

– She didn’t discover her passion in the kitchen until later in life and was still able to impact the entire world

– Her voice makes me smile

– Her writing makes me laugh

– She believed all foods are ok to eat IN MODERATION

– She makes cooking a delicious meal possible for just about anyone

– Her husband and she have the cutest love story

– She loved kitchen gadgets

– One of her mottos is “never apologize for anything that happens in the kitchen”

– She makes everything about being in the kitchen fun

I am thinking my weekend has some baking from “Baking with Julia” in store…stay tuned (and stay warm!) 🙂

2 Responses to “A few of my favorite things…Julia Child edition”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now I know why French women don’t get fat! | deliciousbalance - March 4, 2014

    […] you know, I’ve dedicated these next two weeks on my blog to my favorite things. First was Julia Child. Up […]

  2. Ginger Roasted Chickpeas | deliciousbalance - March 6, 2014

    […] another one of my favorite things? Healthy […]

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

