S’more Bars

18 Feb

If you don’t mind, I am going to brag for a second.

I created a pretty cute Valentine to send out this year.

The sad part is, I neglected to take any picture of them before I sent them out. Luckily, my sister snapped a shot with her iPhone before enjoying the treat.

IMG_0409

There’s a long story to these Valentine’s. I had the idea about 3 months before Valentine’s day last year. I was on a marshmallow-making kick compliments of Shauna Sever’s Marshmallow Madness cookbook. I was going to make strawberry flavored marshmallows, cut them out into the shape of hearts, and package them with a graham cracker, chocolate squares and a note that says “I hope your heart melts this Valentine’s Day”.  I attempted to make these marshmallows before the wonderful days of having a microwave in our apartment. I’m still convinced it’s possible to make marshmallows without a microwave but it is oh-so-easy with one. These particular marshmallows had an extra step of making a syrup. So imagine me in a teeny tiny apartment kitchen, 3 pots of dangerously hot ingredients about to boil over, and my Kitchen Aid going at full speed…it wasn’t pretty. I still have red “goop” on my ceiling that I am leaving for the next tenant. I felt so defeated after this failed attempt that I scrapped the idea of sending out valentine’s all together last year.

DSC00295

I decided to simplify my approach this year. I made Shauna’s classic vanilla marshmallow. Making these made me question why I ever got out of my marshmallow-making kick. Homemade marshmallows pale in comparison to the store-bought kind and they are so gosh darn easy to make (assuming you have a high-powered stand mixer). I cut the classic marshmallows into hearts, packaged them with a couple graham cracker squares and a couple squares of Hershy’s milk chocolate (is there any other way to eat a s’more except with Hershy’s?) and wrote a cute note that said “I hope your heart melts this Valentine’s Day”. Off to the post office I went.

And home to a lot of marshmallow scraps I came!

Enter: S’more Bars

DSC00300

They are SO easy. Don’t worry, you don’t have to use homemade marshmallows…I just can’t guarantee they will be as fresh tasting 🙂

S’more Bars

1 1/2 tablespoons butter

5 ounces marshmallows, about 20 marshmallows

3 cups graham crackers, broken into small pieces

1 Hershy’s chocolate bar, roughly chopped

1. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper and spray with nonstick spray.

2. In a large pan, melt butter over medium low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until melted. Remove from heat and stir in graham crackers. Gently fold in chocolate.

3. Refrigerate until bars are set, about 30 minutes. Remove from pan and cut into squares.

2 Responses to “S’more Bars”

  1. Sue February 18, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

    I love marshmallow anything which means I will be trying these s’mores. Yummmm

    • deliciousbalance February 24, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

      Let me know how they turn out! They reminded me of summer which is a must with this long winter!

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

