Roasted Pecan Butter

21 Jan

DSC00170

I was inspired to make my own pecan butter after our anniversary trip to Chicago. We grabbed a quick breakfast at Elaine’s, located in the lobby of Hotel Lincoln, before heading back home. I’ve had coffee from Elaine’s before and thoroughly enjoyed it but I had never eaten breakfast there. And I’m happy I finally did! I had a unique twist on a PB&J panini with pecan butter and mixed berry preserves. It was delicious. I didn’t want the sandwich to end.

IMG_0227

Making a homemade nut butter is so easy.

DSC00125

DSC00126

DSC00130

In case you’re wondering how to enjoy your pecan butter, in 24 hours, I have enjoyed mine with apple slices and a drizzle of maple syrup, over whole wheat pancakes with a drizzle of agave nectar, and straight out of the container with a spoon (or my fingers!). I have big plans to turn it into cookies and to recreate the PB&J from Elaine’s…I might have to make a new batch though!

DSC00172

DSC00174

However you choose to enjoy it, know that you are getting the heart healthy benefits of omega-3 fatty acids.

Roasted Pecan Butter

Makes about 1 cup of nut butter

2 cups pecans

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon pure maple syrup

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Place pecans on a baking sheet and roast for 8-10 minutes.

2. Place pecans in a food processor and process until a smooth consistency is achieved, about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes. Scrape down the bowl once or twice during processing. Add cinnamon and maple syrup and process to combine.

3 Responses to “Roasted Pecan Butter”

  1. sue January 21, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    This sounds delicious. I love it for pancakes as I usually put pecans in them. But, this just sweetens the pot. Perfect.

    • deliciousbalance January 24, 2014 at 10:49 am #

      Enjoy them! I posted a pancake recipe today. It was great just just a drizzle of agave nectar over them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Raspberry Pecan Oatmeal | deliciousbalance - March 8, 2014

    […] I used my roasted pecan butter. […]

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

