Beet(le) Juice

18 Jan

DSC00144

Since getting my Vitamix a couple years ago, I have made it a habit to have a green drink every morning. Sometimes I fall into a rut and make the same combo which is usually this. Recently, I have been wanting to “mix” it up a little (no pun intended ;).

Today, I decided to step outside of the green realm and into the intense fuchsia color of beets.

DSC00134

I can’t get over the beautiful deep color that they have.

I decided to pour the smoothie through a fine mesh strainer to get rid of some of the pulp. When I make my drinks, I usually leave the pulp in for the added fiber. I was in the mood for a smoother drink today so I strained it. And I liked it.

I will warn you, beets have a very earthy flavor. I happen to love it but I know it’s not for everyone. The flavor of the beets stands out in this drink.

DSC00143

This juice is jam packed with nutrition. Beets are a great source of antioxidants and phytochemicals. Phytochemicals are what make a food a “super food” because they are components that can only be found in whole foods, not in supplements. They provide protective benefits against many chronic conditions such as cancer and heart disease. And lets face it, they are just pretty to look at!

Beet(le) Juice

Makes 2 cups

1 medium beet, trimmed and cut into large chunks

2 celery stalks, trimmed and cut into large pieces

1 small granny smith apple, cored and quartered

1/2 inch piece of ginger

1 lemon, peeled and seeded

1 cup water

4-5 ice cubes

1. Place all ingredients in blender. Blend on high for 1 1/2 minutes.

2. Pour through a fine mesh strainer. Sip and enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

