Quinoa Salad with Marinated Veggies and Pesto

27 Jul

I have never prided myself on being someone who can just “whip something up” in the kitchen with ingredients I have on hand. I usually spend a good chunk of my Sunday planning recipes and carefully crafting my grocery list for the week.  A wave of panic comes over me if I realize I don’t have the right ingredients for what I planned to make for dinner.  Tonight, however, I managed to whip something up for dinner that turned out to be spec-tac-u-lar!

I present to you Quinoa Salad with Marinated Veggies and Pesto:

IMG_2264

I had veggies marinading in the fridge from a cooking class at work. I had leftover pesto from this recipe I made earlier in the week. I decided to cook up some quinoa and toss it altogether. O.M.G…yum.

This is a super healthy lunch or dinner that can be easily modified with ingredients you have on hand.

Quinoa salad with Marinated Veggies and Pesto

Serves 2-3

1 cup cooked quinoa

1 tablespoon prepared basil pesto (I used pesto from this recipe)

Marinade

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 tsp dijon mustard

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram

1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary

Veggies

3 zucchini, cut into large chunks

1 package baby bella mushrooms, quartered

1 red onion, cut into large chunks

3 bell peppers, cut into large chunks

1 package grape tomatoes

1. In a small bowl, combine marinade ingredients.

2. Divide vegetables between two large ziplock bags. Pour half of the marinade into each bag. Shake the bags so that all of the vegetables are well coated. Marinade in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes; the longer the veggies marinate the more flavor they will have.

3. Cook the vegetables in a medium nonstick skillet over medium-heat stirring occasionally until lightly browned and tender, about 10 minutes. Turn off the heat and add cooked quinoa to the pan and combine. Top with prepared pesto and enjoy 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Quinoa Salad with Marinated Veggies and Pesto”

  1. Judy July 27, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    This sounds wonderful….heading off to the farmers market right now to pickup the veggies!

  2. sue July 27, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    Quinoa is one of my favorite foods. The larger grilled veggies with it adds a great twist to it.

    • rpnorman August 12, 2013 at 2:19 am #

      This makes for a great side dish or an easy lunch. The quinoa is great because it’s a complete protein. Let me know how you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

