Mango Spinach Smoothie

17 May

I always tease my husband when he goes out of town that I’m going on the “scrambled eggs and oatmeal diet”. I love cooking and having dinner together when we’re both home. When he’s traveling for work, I have to admit that I get lazy when it comes to cooking. I find myself living on pb&j’s for lunch and scrambled eggs and oatmeal for dinner. After a day or two of this, I am seriously lacking in my usual intake of fruits and vegetables. Luckily, this smoothie is chock full of vitamins and minerals and tastes delicious.

IMG_1880

IMG_1884

If I can squeeze one or two of these in a day, I’m well on my way to the recommended 9 servings per day of fruits and veggies. I have come up with a few favorite fruit and veggie combos for my smoothies but wanted to share this one first since it’s one of my favorite. Enjoy 🙂

Mango Spinach Smoothie

Serves 1

1/2 cup milk of choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

1/2 banana, preferably ripe

1/2 cup frozen mango chunks

1-2 cups spinach

1 cup ice

Place all of the ingredients in your blender in the order listed. Turn the blender on low and quickly increase to high speed. Blend for 1 1/2-2 minutes until smooth. Depending on your blender, you may need to add a little water during the blending to keep things moving.

5 Responses to “Mango Spinach Smoothie”

  1. Dave Desteiger May 17, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Thanks!….Perfect timing….I’m making one tonight as my wife is out of town and I have been eating fast food for two days!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Black Bean and Corn Salsa | deliciousbalance - June 23, 2013

    […] we have been home in a while. I was home alone all weekend and rather than resorting to my usual scrambled eggs and oatmeal diet, I decided to try a few recipes I’ve had on my radar. The first up is this black bean and […]

  2. Miracle Greek Yogurt Breakfast | deliciousbalance - July 17, 2013

    […] to eat and constantly thinking about my next meal or snack. I power up in the morning with a yummy green smoothie. When I get to work I dive into breakfast and about an hour later, my stomach and mind would wander […]

  3. Beet(le) Juice | deliciousbalance - January 18, 2014

    […] a green drink every morning. Sometimes I fall into a rut and make the same combo which is usually this. Recently, I have been wanting to “mix” it up a little (no pun intended […]

  4. Chocolate Bundt Cake | deliciousbalance - January 29, 2014

    […] worry, I’m balancing it all out with a green smoothie every morning, heart healthy oatmeal mid morning, lean turkey chili for lunch, a well balanced […]

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

