Chocolate Chips and Daffodils

21 Mar

Happy Spring, Michigan! We welcome you with 20 degree temperatures (feels like 9 degrees), blowing wind, and gusts of snow! I recently returned from one last winter hoorah in Vail for a ski trip with my family. My dad titled this trip our “skulinary vacation”. My parents were determined to get in some great skiing and some even better meals (ski + culinary = skulinary). We ate at so many amazing restaurants it’s hard to keep them all straight!! Below are some of the highlights.

IMG_1464

Sibs!

The people who made it all happen

The people who made it all happen

Soy Salad at Matsuhisa

Soy Salad at Matsuhisa

Dad got gourmet on the plane!

Dad got gourmet on the plane!

Coconut Spring Roll

Coconut Spring Roll

Bento Box

Bento Box

Salmon at Sweet Basil

I returned from the ski trip fully prepared to bust out the flip flops, lightweight jackets, sunglasses and welcome spring with open arms. Unfortunately, wonderful Michigan weather had other plans for me. It had plans of puffy winter jackets, snow boots to trek through freezing rain and my ice scraper to scrape off my windshield while my car door unfreezes (gotta love garageless apartment living!). All of this has left me with a mild case of (late onset) SADD. I like to call “a funk”. My mom would call it a “letdown”. We all have our own names for it but we all know the feeling…tired, cranky, unmotivated. After a couple days of being in my funk, I had to find a way to shake it. I stopped at the grocery store after work and decided to wander around. My wandering left me with beautiful fragrant daffodils and Ghiradelli chocolate chips in my cart, both on sale! What better way shake the winter blues! I came home from the store determined to get out of my funk.

IMG_1550

IMG_1549

I got home, practiced yoga, had a quick dinner with the hubby, and then got busy in the kitchen. I was in the mood for a cookie that was dense (think nut butters), chocolaty (see above note about Ghiradelli chocolate chips), yet healthy (see about note about the “skulinary” trip I took with my family). I came up with a healthy coconut almond chocolate chip cookie that fit the bill for what I was in search of. After testing a few cookies and displaying my daffodils, I felt a little bit better and ready to take on the rest of…winter? Hopefully the sun comes out soon!

IMG_1536

IMG_1538

IMG_1539

IMG_1540

IMG_1544

IMG_1551

Coconut Almond Chocolate Chip Cookies

Since there is no egg or no egg replacer, the cookies tend to crumble if you don’t let them cool completely. Let me know if you play around with adding an egg replacer. I am not vegan, but was planning to bring these to some coworkers, one of which is. 

Makes 28 cookies

1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

2/3 cup coconut oil

1 cup almond butter

1/4 cup agave nectar (or more if you’re in the mood for something sweeter)

1/4 cup almond milk (I used regular almond milk)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, oatmeal, baking powder, baking soda, salt, chocolate chips, and coconut flakes in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, combine coconut oil, almond milk, almond butter, and vanilla. Pour dry ingredients into wet and mix until combined.  Scoop 1-2 tablespoons of dough onto a lined cookie sheet (parchment paper or silicone baking mat). Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cook for 2 minutes before placing them on a cooling rack. Allow cookies to cool completely before enjoying.

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

