Boxed Cake!

6 Mar

We ended up celebrating my husband’s birthday twice. Obviously, this meant two birthday cakes! If you read the Mocha Brownie Cake post, you know that I spent an afternoon making a delicious dreamy decadent chocolate cake. It was a huge success and we enjoyed our fair share of it. As we were enjoying a piece of cake, this conversation took place:

Nate: “This cake is really good and I know how much you love baking but my all time favorite cake is Funfetti cake”

Me: Mouth full of cake. Speechless.

Nate: “I really do love this chocolate cake but I’m just telling you that my favorite cake has always been Funfetti cake”.

Initially, I cringed at the thought of making a box cake for celebration number two. Then I got to thinking how Nate rarely asks for anything. He didn’t even ask for any birthday presents! How could I not make him his favorite cake for his birthday? The next morning, I went to the store and wheeled my cart to the boxed cake mix section of the baking aisle. I wanted to put my sunglasses on and wrap a scarf around my face. I usually proudly walk past this section thinking “why would anybody make a boxed cake?! Making it from scratch is SO much better”. I grabbed a box of Pillsbury Funfetti cake mix and a container of Pillsbury Funfetti icing and hurried through the checkout line (self-scan, of course, to reduce the risk of anybody seeing me put these colorful containers into my bag!) 😉

I came home and followed the simple instructions of adding water, oil, and eggs and poured the batter into cupcake tins. Once they were in the oven, I found myself uncontrollably licking the leftover batter. It took all my self-control to put soapy water in the bowl to stop myself. I had forgotten how good the silky batter was and how much fun it was to see the colored sprinkles scattered throughout. I was getting so excited for the cupcakes to come out of the oven and for Nate to get home so we could eat them! How could anybody not smile while making Funfetti cake? The word FUN is in the name!
While I still prefer to make things from scratch, once in a while, you can’t beat the simplicity and reminiscent taste of Funfetti cake from a box. I’ll be back to scratch baking tomorrow. After all, isn’t life all about balance?

The happy birthday boy with his Funfetti!

The happy birthday boy with his Funfetti!

IMG_1411

I forgot to take a picture before. A few days later, this is what was left :)

I forgot to take a picture before. A few days later, this is what was left 🙂

One Response to “Boxed Cake!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Bundt Cake | deliciousbalance - January 29, 2014

    […] all know how I feel about boxed cake. And I hate to admit it, but this recipe uses boxed cake mix. But it’s totally worth it. I […]

Leave a Reply

Alice and Louise

Butter, Sugar, and Mishaps: Adventures in Baking

Buckwheat for your health

Learn more about this superfood - Buckwheat!

how to be an analyst

a navigation of psychoanalysis and motherhood

Chez CateyLou

Always hungry.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Dannivee Studio

capturing life, creating art

Miss Marzipan

healthy • heartfelt • homemade

The Gourmand Traveller

A blog about food.

thought i might suggest...

the title says it all.

lijiun

Smile Always

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

